NotchOwl vs Notchable: Two ADHD Task Managers in the Notch
Notchable ($9.99 Lite, $19.99 Standard) sorts each capture with AI. NotchOwl ($9 for 3 Macs) adds a Week view, a daily notepad, Clips and an MCP server.
Notchable and NotchOwl are the two closest apps in the Mac notch category. Notchable calls itself “the ADHD task manager that lives in your MacBook notch.” NotchOwl is a daily planner in the notch for people who lose track of tasks hidden in other windows, including people with ADHD. Both capture tasks by typing or speaking, both run a focus timer in the notch, both show live activities, both have weekly Insights with peak hours, and both sync two-way with Apple Reminders. The differences are in the details: how a capture gets sorted, what you pay, and what each app does beyond the core.
I make NotchOwl, so I’m not neutral; I’ve stuck to what each app states publicly and tried to say plainly where Notchable is ahead. Notchable details come from notchable.com (Notchable 2.1), and NotchOwl’s from its own site and documentation (NotchOwl 2.2.2), both checked in November 2026.
The short verdict
Choose Notchable if you want AI to sort each capture into a date, priority, category and effort estimate, you have an Intel Mac (Standard edition), you want the interface in a language other than English, or you want a free trial before paying. Choose NotchOwl if you want a planner that goes past capture: a Week view with an Inbox, carry-forward, a notepad for each day, Clips for screenshots, a drawn notch on external monitors and a local MCP server so Claude can manage your tasks, for $9 once on up to 3 Macs. If fast, AI-sorted capture matters most, start with Notchable’s trial. If planning the week and AI agents matter most, start with NotchOwl.
Notchable and NotchOwl are both one-time-purchase task managers for the MacBook notch with voice capture, a focus timer and two-way Apple Reminders sync; Notchable sorts captures with AI, and NotchOwl adds a Week view, a daily notepad, Clips and a local MCP server.
Where Notchable and NotchOwl are the same
Most of the core is shared, and it’s worth saying so before the differences:
- Mac only, no subscription. Both are one-time purchases for macOS 14 Sonoma or later.
- Capture from the notch. Hover the notch, then type or speak. In both apps, speech is recognized on your Mac.
- Brain dumps. Notchable turns a brain dump with several items into several tasks. NotchOwl splits a line like “call mom tomorrow at 5pm, gym at 7” into two tasks, each with its own day and reminder.
- A focus timer in the notch. Notchable has a watch-style Focus and Pomodoro dial. NotchOwl runs a countdown or a stopwatch, on a task or on its own. Both let you add five minutes.
- Live activities. The notch changes shape when a reminder comes due in both apps.
- Insights. Both give a plain-language summary of your week and show your peak hours.
- iPhone and Apple Watch through Reminders. Neither has an iPhone app. Both offer two-way Apple Reminders sync, so tasks reach iPhone and Apple Watch through iCloud.
- Local data. Both store tasks on your Mac.
- A full window too. Notchable has a desktop app with Today, Upcoming, Inbox, Projects, Completed and Notes views. NotchOwl can open a full dashboard.
Notchable vs NotchOwl at a glance
| NotchOwl | Notchable | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $9 once (early-bird, normally $29) | Lite $9.99 once; Standard $19.99 once (shown as discounted from $40) |
| Macs per license | Up to 3 | Not stated on notchable.com |
| Trial | None; 14-day money-back guarantee | 3 days, every feature, no account |
| Mac requirements | macOS 14 or later, Apple silicon | macOS 14 or later; Standard on Intel or Apple silicon; Lite on Apple silicon, 16 GB memory recommended |
| How captures are sorted | Rules on your Mac read the day, time, repeat, priority and project; on macOS 26 with Apple Intelligence, Apple’s on-device model adds a priority and project | AI sorts the date, priority, category and effort; Standard uses Grok 4.1 Fast on Notchable’s server, Lite an on-device Qwen3 1.7B model |
| Voice capture | Yes, recognized on your Mac | Yes, recognized on your Mac |
| Focus timer | Countdown or stopwatch | Watch-style Focus/Pomodoro dial |
| Live activities | Due reminders and upcoming Calendar events; a running focus timer stays visible in the notch | Running focus session, due reminder, next event |
| Insights | Weekly summary, peak hours, focus time | Weekly summary, peak hours, consistency grid |
| Apple Reminders sync | Two-way, optional | Two-way, one toggle |
| Notes | Autosaving notepad for each day; Command–Return makes a task | Quick notes beside tasks, in the notch and on the desktop |
| Planning views | Today, future days, Week with an Inbox, Upcoming, Overdue, projects, History | Today, Upcoming, Inbox, Projects, Completed |
| Calendar | Optional, read-only, today’s events | Next event in live activities; Calendar access not detailed |
| Screenshots and copied items | Clips | Not mentioned |
| External monitors | Draws a notch on each monitor | Not stated; on a Mac without a notch, it draws a small tab at the top center |
| AI agents (MCP) | Local MCP server for Claude Code, the Claude app and Cursor | Not mentioned |
| Interface languages | English | 25 languages |
The biggest differences
How a capture gets sorted
Notchable puts AI at the center of capture. Hover the notch, type or speak, and Notchable sorts each capture into a date, priority, category and effort estimate in about two seconds. The edition decides where that AI runs. Notchable Standard sends the capture text to Notchable’s server, where Grok 4.1 Fast sorts it; Notchable’s site says the text is processed and then discarded, not stored. Notchable Lite runs a Qwen3 1.7B model on your Mac instead, a one-time download of about 1 GB, and recommends 16 GB of memory.
NotchOwl reads captures with rules that run on your Mac. Type or say “call mom tomorrow at 5pm !high #family” and NotchOwl plans it for tomorrow, sets a 5 PM reminder, marks it high priority and files it under the family project; phrases like “every monday” set a repeat. On macOS 26 with Apple Intelligence, Apple’s on-device model also gives new tasks a priority and project when you didn’t type one. NotchOwl doesn’t estimate effort for you, though you can give any task a time limit.
The trade-off is plain. Notchable’s AI does more of the sorting, which helps if your captures are messy thoughts rather than tidy commands. NotchOwl’s capture is more literal and predictable, and the sorting happens on your Mac. Notchable Lite also keeps sorting on the Mac, at the cost of a 1 GB model and a memory recommendation.
Price, editions and trial
Notchable sells two one-time editions, Lite at $9.99 and Standard at $19.99, as of November 2026. The editions differ in where the AI runs and which Macs they support. Notchable offers a 3-day free trial with every feature and no account. Its homepage doesn’t state how many Macs a license covers.
NotchOwl has one edition: $9 once, shown as an early-bird price (normally $29), for up to 3 Macs, with every feature and lifetime updates. Notchable Standard is likewise shown as discounted, from $40. NotchOwl has no trial; the installer is free to download but needs a license to run, and a 14-day money-back guarantee covers you if it isn’t right. See NotchOwl’s pricing.
Planning beyond today
NotchOwl leans further into planning across days. Week shows the days ahead beside an Inbox for tasks without a day, and you drag a task to any day or back to the Inbox. Unfinished tasks carry forward, overdue tasks get their own tab with Reschedule, repeating tasks bring the next copy when you finish the current one, and deadlines sync with Reminders.
Notchable’s desktop app covers Today, Upcoming, Inbox, Projects and Completed views. Notchable’s site focuses on capture, the focus dial and live activities rather than a week board in the notch.
Notes
Both apps keep notes next to tasks. Notchable has quick notes in the notch and on the desktop, plus a Notes view in its desktop app. NotchOwl has one autosaving notepad for each day, inside the notch, with dictation; Command–Return turns the current line into a task. If you think in running notes and pull tasks out of them, NotchOwl’s notepad is built for that.
AI agents and MCP
This is the clearest gap. NotchOwl includes a local MCP server: in Settings › AI agents, click Connect next to Claude Code, the Claude app or Cursor, and the AI can add, move, complete and snooze tasks, set reminders, write in the notepad, read Insights and run the focus timer on your Mac. Notchable’s website doesn’t mention MCP or AI agents as of November 2026. If you already plan your day with Claude, read how to connect Claude to your Mac to-do list.
External monitors and Macs without a notch
NotchOwl draws a notch at the top of each external monitor, follows your pointer between screens and steps aside when an app goes full screen. On a Mac without a notch, NotchOwl opens at the top center of the screen. Notchable’s FAQ says that on a Mac without a physical notch it draws a small black tab at the top center of the screen that works the same way, but it doesn’t say more about external monitors, so check during its 3-day trial if you work on a monitor. The NotchOwl side is explained in how to get a notch on an external monitor.
Languages and Intel Macs
Notchable lists 25 interface languages and says it understands dates and times in any language. NotchOwl’s interface is in English. Notchable Standard also runs on Intel Macs, which NotchOwl does not.
Where Notchable is better
- AI sorting. Each capture gets a date, priority, category and effort estimate, which suits messy brain dumps.
- A choice of AI. Cloud sorting in Standard or on-device sorting in Lite.
- Intel Macs. Notchable Standard runs on them.
- Languages. 25 interface languages, and dates understood in any language.
- A free trial. Three days with every feature and no account.
- Insights extras. A consistency grid alongside the weekly summary and peak hours.
Where NotchOwl is better
- Price for more Macs. $9 once covers up to 3 Macs and every feature.
- Planning across days. Week with an Inbox, carry-forward, an Overdue tab with Reschedule, repeats and deadlines.
- A notepad for each day. It saves itself, takes dictation and turns lines into tasks.
- AI agents. A local MCP server for Claude Code, the Claude app and Cursor.
- External monitors, spelled out. NotchOwl draws a notch on every monitor and follows your pointer between screens; Notchable’s site doesn’t say how it handles external monitors.
- Clips. New screenshots, screen recordings and copied items hang in the notch, ready to drag into any app.
- Capture stays local. NotchOwl reads every capture on your Mac; Notchable Lite matches this, Standard does not.
Can you use both?
You could, but most people shouldn’t. Notchable and NotchOwl do the same core job from the same spot at the top of the screen, and running two task managers in one notch means two places to check. Pick one. Notchable’s 3-day trial and NotchOwl’s 14-day money-back guarantee both give you room to decide.
Notchable and NotchOwl are not the only notch apps with tasks, either. NotchNook has to-dos too, and NotchNook Pro 2.0 added a Pomodoro timer in October 2026, compared in NotchOwl vs NotchNook, and MacNotch on Setapp has a task list synced with macOS Reminders.
Verdict
Notchable and NotchOwl are close enough that the details decide it. Notchable is the better pick if you want AI to tidy up messy captures, need Intel support or another language, or want a trial first. NotchOwl is the better pick if you plan your week as well as your day, want a notepad for each day, want documented external-monitor support, or want Claude to manage your tasks, and it costs $9 for up to 3 Macs.
Download each app only from its developer: Notchable from notchable.com and NotchOwl from notchowl.com. In July 2026, a fake ad on X impersonating another notch app, DynamicLake, spread Mac malware, so official sources matter.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between Notchable and NotchOwl?
Notchable and NotchOwl are both ADHD-friendly task managers in the MacBook notch with voice capture, a focus timer, Insights and two-way Apple Reminders sync. Notchable sorts each capture with AI and comes in Lite ($9.99) and Standard ($19.99) editions; NotchOwl ($9 for up to 3 Macs) adds a Week view with an Inbox, a daily notepad, Clips and a local MCP server.
Does Notchable send my tasks to the cloud?
Only the capture text, and only in the Standard edition. Notchable Standard sends what you type or say to Notchable’s server, where Grok 4.1 Fast sorts it and the text is then discarded; Notchable Lite sorts on your Mac with a Qwen3 1.7B model. Both editions store tasks on your Mac and recognize speech on your Mac.
Does Notchable work on Intel Macs?
Yes, the Standard edition does. Notchable Standard runs on Intel and Apple silicon Macs with macOS 14 or later, while Notchable Lite and NotchOwl need Apple silicon.
Does Notchable have an MCP server for Claude?
Not that its website mentions. As of November 2026, notchable.com does not mention MCP or AI agents. NotchOwl includes a local MCP server that Claude Code, the Claude app and Cursor connect to in one click.
Is Notchable cheaper than NotchOwl?
No, but the gap is small. As of November 2026, Notchable Lite costs $9.99 once and Notchable Standard $19.99 once, while NotchOwl costs $9 once for up to 3 Macs. Notchable has a 3-day free trial; NotchOwl has no trial but a 14-day money-back guarantee.
Do Notchable and NotchOwl have iPhone apps?
No. Neither Notchable nor NotchOwl has an iPhone app. Both sync two-way with Apple Reminders, so tasks reach iPhone and Apple Watch through iCloud.