# Best Notch Apps for Mac in 2026: 10 Picks by Use Case

> The best Mac notch apps in 2026 by use case: NotchOwl for tasks and focus, NotchNook for files and media, Boring Notch for free. Prices and support compared.

By Aditya Jaiswal, founder of NotchOwl. Published 2026-11-08, updated 2026-11-08. Canonical URL: https://www.notchowl.com/blog/best-notch-apps-for-mac

A notch app turns the camera cutout at the top of a MacBook screen into a panel that drops down when you hover over it, with music, files, your calendar or your to-do list. There are now more than a dozen of these apps, and they differ in price, purpose and support for Macs without a notch.

I make NotchOwl, so it’s on this list; I’ve tried to be fair about where other apps are the better pick. Every app below was compared from its official website, App Store listing or GitHub repository in November 2026. Prices are in US dollars as of November 2026.

## Quick picks

- **Best for planning your day:** NotchOwl, $9 once.
- **Best all-in-one notch toolkit:** NotchNook Pro, $19 lifetime or $3/month.
- **Best for AI task capture:** Notchable, $9.99 or $19.99 once.
- **Best free and open-source app:** Boring Notch.
- **Best for Live Activities and HUDs:** Alcove, $12.99 once.
- **Best for messages and notifications:** DynamicLake, $13.99 once.
- **Best for files and clipboard history:** Droppy, $9.99 once.
- **Best if you already pay for Setapp:** MacNotch.
- **Best free app for system stats:** Atoll.
- **Best for an AI clipboard:** NotchNest, free with in-app purchases.

## Mac notch apps compared

Table: Mac notch apps compared by price, source code, focus and notch-less support (USD, November 2026)

| App | Price | Open source | Main focus | Works without a notch | Requirements |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| NotchOwl | $9 once, up to 3 Macs | No | Tasks, focus timer, notes, reminders | Yes: drawn notch on monitors | Apple silicon, macOS 14+ |
| NotchNook | Pro $19 lifetime or $3/mo; Classic $15 or $2/mo | No | Files, media, calendar, to-dos, coding agents | Yes, including external displays | macOS 14.6+; Pro needs Apple silicon |
| Notchable | Lite $9.99 or Standard $19.99, once | No | AI task capture, focus timer, Reminders sync | Yes: a tab at the top center | macOS 14+; Lite needs Apple silicon |
| Boring Notch | Free | Yes (GPL-3.0) | Music, file shelf, calendar, HUDs | Not stated | macOS 14+, Apple silicon or Intel |
| Alcove | $12.99 once, 3 devices | No | Live Activities, notifications, HUDs | Not stated | macOS 15+ |
| DynamicLake | $13.99 once | No | Music, message replies, file drop | Yes: slim player | Not stated |
| Droppy | $9.99 once, 2 Macs | Not stated | File tray, clipboard, media, coding agents | Yes: island style plus menu bar | macOS 14+ |
| MacNotch | Setapp, from $4.99/mo | No | Tasks with Reminders sync, Pomodoro, widgets | Not stated | macOS 14+ |
| Atoll | Free | Yes (GPL-3.0) | Media, system stats, Live Activities | No: needs a notched MacBook | macOS 14+ |
| NotchNest | Free; Pro from $2.99/mo or $14.99 lifetime | No | AI clipboard, music, file tray, calendar | Not stated | macOS 14+ |

“Not stated” means the official page did not say either way.

## The best notch apps for Mac

### NotchOwl: best for planning your day

NotchOwl is a day planner in the notch. Hover over the notch or press Option–N to see today’s tasks, a focus timer, a daily notepad and today’s Apple Calendar events. When a reminder comes due, NotchOwl opens the notch with a chime so you can snooze it or mark it done.

- **Price:** $9 once (an early-bird price, normally $29) for up to 3 Macs, with lifetime updates and a 14-day money-back guarantee. No subscription, free tier or trial.
- **Runs on:** Apple silicon Macs with macOS 14 Sonoma or later. External monitors get a notch NotchOwl draws itself, and Macs without a notch use the top center of the screen.
- **Strengths:** natural-language capture (“call mom tomorrow at 5pm”), on-device dictation, optional two-way Apple Reminders sync to iPhone and Apple Watch, Clips for recent screenshots and copied items, and a local MCP server for Claude Code, the Claude app and Cursor.
- **Drawbacks:** no media controls, no file shelf or AirDrop beyond Clips, no HUD replacement, no Intel build, no iPhone app, no shared lists, and Calendar is read-only.
- **Get it:** [download NotchOwl](/download) or see [NotchOwl pricing](/#pricing).

### NotchNook: best all-in-one notch toolkit

NotchNook by lo.cafe is a broad notch toolkit. Its Pro 2.0 update on October 28, 2026 added a fuller to-do list, a Pomodoro timer and a way to follow Claude Code and Codex sessions and approve their commands from the notch, next to a file tray with AirDrop, clipboard history, a file converter and a calendar with meeting join buttons.

- **Price:** Pro $19 lifetime or $3/month; Classic $15 lifetime or $2/month. 48-hour free trial with no card. One license covers 2 Macs, with refunds within 7 days.
- **Runs on:** macOS 14.6 or later. NotchNook Pro needs Apple silicon; Classic also runs on Intel. lo.cafe says both work with or without a notch, including on external displays.
- **Strengths:** the widest feature set here, down to a teleprompter under the camera.
- **Drawbacks:** NotchNook’s comparison table lists Pomodoro and To-dos as Pro features (Classic got a simpler to-do widget in September 2026), and NotchNook’s page does not mention Apple Reminders sync. See [NotchOwl vs NotchNook](/blog/notchowl-vs-notchnook).
- **Official site:** [lo.cafe/notchnook](https://lo.cafe/notchnook)

### Notchable: best for AI task capture

Notchable positions itself as an ADHD task manager for the MacBook notch, which makes it the app closest to NotchOwl. You type or speak into the notch, and Notchable’s AI sorts each capture into a date, priority, category and effort estimate; a brain dump becomes several tasks.

- **Price:** Lite $9.99 once, with on-device AI (Apple silicon, 16 GB of memory recommended). Standard $19.99 once, with cloud AI through Notchable’s server, on Intel or Apple silicon. 3-day trial.
- **Runs on:** macOS 14 or later.
- **Strengths:** AI sorting of messy captures, a focus dial in the notch, live activities for focus sessions and due reminders, weekly Insights, two-way Apple Reminders sync and a desktop app.
- **Drawbacks:** Notchable Standard sends capture text to Notchable’s server, which the site says is processed and then discarded. The trial is short, and the site does not mention an MCP server; for Macs without a notch, it says only that Notchable draws a small tab at the top center.
- **Official site:** [notchable.com](https://notchable.com)

Notchable leans on AI sorting and has an Intel edition; NotchOwl costs $9, reads dates and times on the Mac itself, and adds Clips and an MCP server. More in [NotchOwl vs Notchable](/blog/notchowl-vs-notchable).

### Boring Notch: best free and open-source app

Boring Notch is a free, open-source notch app from TheBoredTeam on GitHub. Boring Notch focuses on media and utilities: music controls with a visualizer, a file shelf with AirDrop, a calendar, and replacement volume and brightness HUDs.

- **Price:** Free under GPL-3.0, with donations through Ko-fi and GitHub Sponsors.
- **Runs on:** macOS 14 or later, Apple silicon or Intel. Install from GitHub releases or Homebrew.
- **Strengths:** no cost, about 11,300 GitHub stars, and 2.8 release candidates that add notification mirroring and meeting join buttons.
- **Drawbacks:** the latest stable release, v2.7.3, is from November 24, 2025; only release candidates have shipped since. Boring Notch is unsigned, so Gatekeeper blocks the first launch until you allow it. No task list of its own; its calendar shows Apple Reminders that are due.
- **Official site:** [github.com/TheBoredTeam/boring.notch](https://github.com/TheBoredTeam/boring.notch)

### Alcove: best for Live Activities and HUDs

Alcove brings the iPhone’s Dynamic Island look to the Mac notch, with Live Activities, notifications, swipe gestures, customizable HUDs and lock screen widgets.

- **Price:** $12.99 once with future updates included, on up to 3 devices. 72-hour trial and refunds within 14 days.
- **Runs on:** macOS 15 or later.
- **Strengths:** a polished, focused take on the Dynamic Island idea.
- **Drawbacks:** Alcove’s site lists no tasks, calendar, clipboard or file handling. Its FAQ says it relies on private APIs, with no guarantee that features keep working after macOS updates.
- **Official site:** [tryalcove.com](https://tryalcove.com)

### DynamicLake: best for messages and notifications

DynamicLake Pro shows music with an Apple Music or Spotify queue, calendar, weather and a converting file drop. DynamicLake also shows iMessage, WhatsApp, Telegram and Slack notifications you can reply to from the notch. Version 2.0 shipped in November 2026.

- **Price:** $13.99 once through Gumroad.
- **Runs on:** Mac; the minimum macOS version is not stated on its page. A slim player covers Macs without a notch and external displays.
- **Strengths:** message replies, iPhone call support and a plugin market.
- **Drawbacks:** no tasks or to-dos, and it needs Accessibility permissions. Fake copies have circulated (see the safety note below).
- **Official site:** [dynamiclake.com](https://www.dynamiclake.com)

### Droppy: best for files and clipboard history

Droppy has a file tray that can zip and convert files, clipboard history, a floating player with lyrics, calendar, Pomodoro and notes. Droppy also shows Live Activities for music, meetings, downloads and coding agents such as Claude, Codex and Cursor.

- **Price:** $9.99 once (lower in 126 countries) for 2 Macs, with a 3-day trial and a 14-day refund window.
- **Runs on:** macOS 14 Sonoma or later. Without a notch, Droppy uses an island style plus the menu bar. A free iPhone beta syncs clipboard, files and notes.
- **Strengths:** strong file handling and 41 optional “Droplets” extensions.
- **Drawbacks:** Droppy has no to-do list of its own (its droplets connect to Things 3, Plane and Apple Reminders), and whether it needs Apple silicon is not stated.
- **Official site:** [getdroppy.app](https://getdroppy.app)

### MacNotch: best if you already pay for Setapp

MacNotch, sold through Setapp, combines a task list that syncs with macOS Reminders, quick notes and a Pomodoro timer with calendar countdowns, music controls, widgets and system stats.

- **Price:** Setapp only: from $4.99/month alone, or included in a Setapp membership from $14.99/month. 7-day trial.
- **Runs on:** macOS 14 or later.
- **Strengths:** tasks and media in one app, and no extra cost for existing Setapp members.
- **Drawbacks:** a subscription, with no one-time purchase offered on the Setapp page.
- **Official site:** [setapp.com/apps/macnotch](https://setapp.com/apps/macnotch)

### Atoll: best free app for system stats

Atoll is a free, open-source notch app that credits Boring Notch as its foundation. Atoll adds CPU, GPU, memory, network and disk stats, Live Activities for media, Focus and battery, plus timers, clipboard history and calendar previews.

- **Price:** Free under GPL-3.0.
- **Runs on:** macOS 14 or later. Atoll’s README lists a MacBook with a notch as a requirement.
- **Strengths:** a lot of system information at no cost; v2.3.3 shipped in July 2026.
- **Drawbacks:** no to-do list of its own (its calendar can show and check off Apple Reminders), and not designed for external displays or Macs without a notch.
- **Official site:** [getatoll.app](https://getatoll.app)

### NotchNest: best for an AI clipboard

NotchNest, on the Mac App Store, centers on an AI clipboard manager that can rephrase and summarize text, plus music controls, a file tray with AirDrop, Apple Calendar with AI briefings, notes and a Pomodoro timer.

- **Price:** Free download, with in-app purchases of $2.99/month, $14.99/year or $14.99 lifetime.
- **Runs on:** macOS 14 or later.
- **Strengths:** Mac App Store distribution and AI text tools in the notch.
- **Drawbacks:** no to-do list on its listing.
- **Official site:** [NotchNest on the Mac App Store](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/id6747612321)

## Apps left off this list

- **MediaMate** appears to no longer be sold; its site returns a 404 error.
- **Notchly**’s website was down in November 2026.
- **NotchDrop**’s Mac App Store build has not been updated since November 25, 2024.
- **TopNotch** hides the notch instead of using it; see [what the MacBook notch is for](/blog/what-is-the-macbook-notch-for).

## How to choose a notch app

- **You want a planner, not a toolbox.** Choose between NotchOwl, Notchable and MacNotch.
- **You want files, media and a calendar.** Look at NotchNook, Droppy, DynamicLake or Boring Notch.
- **You want it free.** Boring Notch and Atoll cost nothing, and NotchNest has a free tier.
- **You use an external monitor or a Mac without a notch.** NotchOwl, NotchNook, Notchable, DynamicLake and Droppy say they work there; Atoll needs a notched MacBook.
- **You have an Intel Mac.** NotchOwl, NotchNook Pro and Notchable Lite need Apple silicon. NotchNook Classic, Notchable Standard and Boring Notch run on Intel.
- **You bought the MacBook Pro with PROLED XDR Display.** That model, on sale since November 6, 2026, has Apple’s own Dynamic Island instead of a notch, so check each developer’s notes for it. See [how to get a Dynamic Island on your Mac](/blog/dynamic-island-for-mac).

> The best Mac notch app depends on the job: NotchOwl ($9 once) for tasks and focus, NotchNook Pro ($19 lifetime) for files, media and coding agents, and Boring Notch for a free, open-source option.

## Download notch apps only from official sources

In July 2026, a sponsored ad on X impersonated DynamicLake and delivered a variant of the Atomic Stealer Mac malware, according to 9to5Mac and Jamf. Download notch apps only from the developer’s official site, the Mac App Store or the official GitHub releases page, and ignore ads that offer them. DynamicLake’s own FAQ flags look-alikes named “AppleLake” and “dynamiclake.net”. Boring Notch shows a Gatekeeper warning because it is unsigned, so make sure the file came from TheBoredTeam’s GitHub releases.

## Frequently asked questions

### What is the best notch app for Mac in 2026?

It depends on what you want in the notch. NotchOwl ($9 once) is best for tasks, a focus timer and reminders, NotchNook Pro ($19 lifetime or $3/month) is the broadest toolkit for files, media and coding agents, and Boring Notch is the best free, open-source option.

### Is there a free notch app for Mac?

Yes. Boring Notch and Atoll are free and open source under GPL-3.0, and NotchNest is a free download with optional in-app purchases. NotchOwl, NotchNook, Notchable, Alcove, DynamicLake and Droppy are paid apps.

### Is NotchNook Pro worth $19 in 2026?

Yes, if you want files, media, a calendar and Claude Code approvals in one notch app. NotchNook Pro 2.0, released October 28, 2026, added Pomodoro and a fuller to-do list, and its lifetime license costs $19. If you mainly want a day planner with Apple Reminders sync, NotchOwl or Notchable fits better.

### Which notch apps work on an external monitor or a Mac without a notch?

NotchOwl, NotchNook, Notchable, DynamicLake and Droppy say they work without a notch. NotchOwl draws a notch at the top of an external monitor and opens at the top center on a Mac without one, while Atoll’s README requires a MacBook with a notch.

### Which Mac notch apps have a to-do list?

NotchOwl, Notchable and MacNotch are built around tasks, and NotchNook has a to-do list too, expanded in NotchNook Pro 2.0 in October 2026. Boring Notch and Atoll have no to-do list of their own, though their calendars can show Apple Reminders and check them off; DynamicLake has no to-do list, and Alcove’s site does not list one.

### Are Mac notch apps safe to download?

Yes, when they come from the developer’s official site, the Mac App Store or the official GitHub releases page. In July 2026 a fake DynamicLake ad on X spread Mac malware, so avoid ads and look-alike download sites.
